da forms
This is not a government sponsored website Privacy and disclaimer
Army Field Manual 7-22

The Army’s PRT System consists of three phases: the initial conditioning phase, the toughening phase,
and the sustaining phase. The initial conditioning phase prepares future Soldiers to learn and adapt to
Army PRT. Toughening phase activities develop foundational fitness and fundamental movement skills that
prepare Soldiers to transition to the sustaining phase. Activities in the sustaining phase develop a higher
level of physical readiness required by duty position and/or C- or D-METL. Reconditioning restores
Soldiers to physical readiness levels that allow them to safely re-enter the toughening or sustaining phase.

Types of PRT include on-ground, off-ground, and combatives. Within these types of training are three
fundamental components: strength, endurance, and mobility. Phased training of these components is
guided by the overarching principles of precision, progression, and integration. Finally, Army PRT optimizes
physical performance within an environment of injury control. Figure 2-1 illustrates the PRT System’s
phases, types of training, components, principles, and reconditioning as they apply to ARFORGEN.

Download FM 7-22
See Also DA Form 705        DA Form 5500
New APRT Manual FM 7-22